Album Review – Mork / Dypet (2023)

Let yourself sink into the depths of the abyss to the sound of the sixth full-length album by this one-man Black Metal project hailing from Norway.

The ever prolific, Halden, Norway-based vocalist and multi-instrumentalist Thomas Eriksen returns from the underworld with his Black Metal outfit Mork armed with the project’s sixth studio, entitled Dypet, following swiftly on the heels of his 2021 opus Katedralen. Recorded and mixed by Thomas himself, mastered by Jack Control at Enormous Door, and displaying a sick artwork by David Thiérrée (inspired by the album’s theme of “Draugen” or “Cthulhu”) and crest by Jannicke Wiese-Hansen, Dypet, which means “the deep” from Norwegian, is a miasma of grim and frost-bitten riffs and harsh vocal melodies, simultaneously pushing new ideas forward yet still retaining the signature foundations of ice cold hypnotic Black Metal. Furthermore, Dypet is not a concept album and the themes of hatred, death, betrayal, inner demons and misanthropy will find fans of Black Metal right at home, continuing his exploration of the depths of darkness.

Thomas unleashes his inner demons in the Stygian opening tune Indre Demoner (“inner demons”), starting in a somber, pensive way before exploding into first-class Melodic Black Metal led by his harmonious yet piercing guitar lines, followed by Forført Av Kulden (“seduced by the cold”), even more obscure than its predecessor, with Thomas gnarling like a creature from the abyss until the very end. Moreover, regarding its concept Thomas said that the song “is about being seduced into the cold hard weather outside by an unknown force, wandering into the snowstorm at night and ending up freezing to death. It depicts a somewhat glorified theme of death as a beautiful and unavoidable thing.” Then in Svik (“betrayal”) we’re treated to classic Scandinavian Black Metal infused with Melodic Black Metal elements, with Thomas firing his usual roars supported by a solid job done on drums; whereas Et Kall Fra Dypet (“a call from the deep”) is absolutely heavy and dark from the very first second, where Thomas once again hammers his drums fiercely while his growling resonates through the air.

Featuring guest vocals by Norwegian vocalist Hjelvik, Høye Murer (“high walls”) brings forward strident, razor-edged riffs and low-tuned bass which together generate the perfect atmosphere for Thomas and Hjelvik to vociferate in the darkest possible way; and inspired by the beautiful Nordic countryside we have Bortgang (“demise”), thematically exploring the idea of legacy and it’s various interpretations from both the perspective of the deceased and those that were left behind, another melodic and flammable display of Black Metal by such talented Norwegian musician. Enhancing his animosity and rage it’s time for the venomous Avskum (“scum”), where Thomas keeps roaring rabidly while his guitar sounds absolutely infernal, also showcasing demonic blast beats; and  last but not least Thomas invests in a more direct, old school Black Metal sonority in Tilbake Til Opprinnelsen (“back to origins”), flowing smoothly until the song’s climatic and grim finale.

“It is with great pride that I am able to present and experience the release of my sixth full length album. I put every single drop of myself into the process of shaping Mork’s music. Perhaps even more so with this new album. As the album title, which translates to ‘the deep’, something from the depths has been brought to the surface, Dypet was inspired by my life over the last couple of years, the thoughts, feelings, passion and the evolving of creative free will. Dive in and let yourself sink into the abyss,” commented Thomas about his newborn beast, and you can let your soul be dragged into the deep by streaming the album in full on YouTube or on Spotify, or by clicking HERE and purchasing your favorite version of it. In addition, don’t forget to also follow Thomas and his Mork on Facebook and on Instagram, staying up to date with all things surrounding such grim and captivating project. The abyss is calling you to the sound of the new album by Mork, and I’m sure that, once there, you’ll enjoy its cold embrace for all eternity.

Best moments of the album: Forført Av Kulden, Høye Murer and Avskum.

Worst moments of the album: None.

Released in 2023 Peaceville Records

Track listing
1. Indre Demoner 6:15
2. Forført Av Kulden 5:20
3. Svik 5:16
4. Et Kall Fra Dypet 7:31
5. Høye Murer 6:37
6. Bortgang 5:49
7. Avskum 4:44
8. Tilbake Til Opprinnelsen 6:15

Band members
Thomas Eriksen – vocals, all instruments

Guest musician
Hjelvik – vocals on “Høye Murer”


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.