Album Review – Admire the Grim / Rogue Five EP (2023)

Let’s all admire the debut EP by a promising new name hailing from the Finnish Melodic Death Metal scene.

Formed by five friends in early 2021 in Lappeenranta, a city and municipality in the region of South Karelia, Finland, the up-and-coming Melodic Death Metal squad known as Admire the Grim is set to release their debut EP, entitled Rogue Five. Recorded by Onni Lappalainen at Crane Studio, and mixed and mastered by Saku Moilanen at Deep Noise Studios, Rogue Five brings forward everything we love in the music by renowned acts the likes of Arch Enemy, Children of Bodom and Dark Tranquility, showcasing all the talent and hard work by frontwoman Katri Snellman, guitarists Jani Loikkanen and Sirja Ojaniemi, bassist Kalle Raatikainen and drummer Tommi Vante, therefore positioning the band as one of the most exciting new names of the current Finnish scene.

Electrifying from the very first second, the opening tune The Flood brings to our avid ears the classic Melodic Death Metal riffage and solos by Jani and Sirja while Kalle dictates the pace with his pounding drums and Katri alternates between her she-wolf roars and piercing clean vocals. Then speeding things up and sounding even heavier and more caustic we have Mad Queen of the Second Sun, where Katri vociferates rabidly while her bandmates generate a massive wall of sounds inspired by renowned acts such as Soilwork and Children of Bodom; whereas the song that carries the name of the band, Admire the Grim, is slower and more melodic than its predecessors, with Kalle and Tommi adding tons of groove to the music through their bass and drums, resulting in a mid-tempo song perfect for banging your head together with the band. Lastly, we’re treated to the title-track Rogue Five, bringing forward rebellious, inspiring lyrics declaimed by Katri (“No compromise, all or nothing / Nothing to lose / Like a maniac, through trouble, the strife / Off to destruction, I’ve got your back”) amidst a frantic, infuriated sonority blasted by her bandmates, with Tommi being once again on fire behind his drums, not to mention the solid guitar work by Jani and Sirja.

Such promising new name from the land of ice and snow (and of course, a land of first-class Melodic Death Metal) can be found on Facebook and on Instagram for news, tour dates and other nice to know details, and on YouTube for more of their music and behind the scenes videos. Furthermore, you will be able to purchase a copy of Rogue Five or stream it in full soon by clicking HERE, as well as on Apple Music and on Amazon. I honestly don’t think it will take long for Admire the Grim to attack us with their first full-length opus based on the quality of the music found in Rogue Five, expanding their reach and proving once again there’s no such thing as bad female-fronted Melodic Death Metal made in Scandinavia.

Best moments of the album: Mad Queen of the Second Sun and Rogue Five.

Worst moments of the album: None.

Released in 2023 Inverse Records

Track listing
1. The Flood 3:53
2. Mad Queen of the Second Sun 4:25
3. Admire the Grim 4:03
4. Rogue Five 3:59

Band members
Katri Snellman – vocals
Jani Loikkanen – guitar
Sirja Ojaniemi – guitar
Kalle Raatikainen – bass
Tommi Vante – drums


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.