Album Review – Visceral Explosion / Malevolent Dismemberment Of Entire Putrefacted Gastrointestine EP (2023)

Get ready for a furious blood storm made in South Korea, offering us all Brutal Death Metal of the most fiercely focused and unremittingly battering kind.

Following on from their acclaimed 2022 album Human Meat Distribution Process, Malevolent Dismemberment Of Entire Putrefacted Gastrointestine, the brand new EP by South Korea-based Brutal Death Metal outfit Visceral Explosion, raises the bar for the band in every way. Recorded, mixed and mastered by the band’s own vocalist and guitarist Ryu Gun, and displaying a sick artwork by Ukrainian artist Daemorph (Aborted Fetus, Avulsed, The Black Dahlia Murder), the EP showcases no gradual build up, no warning, nor any sort of introduction by the aforementioned Ryu Gun alongside guitarist Lee Seok Ho, bassist Lee Kyeong Won and drummer Kim Yu Jong, simply offering our putrid ears Brutal Death Metal of the most fiercely focused and unremittingly battering kind, a furious blood storm highly recommended for fans of Guttural Disease, Beheaded, Unfathomable Ruination and Posthuman Abomination, among other masters of unrelenting brutality.

Kim kicks off the band’s gory and truculent party by hammering his drums in Unanesthetized Hypothalamotomy, accompanied by the inhumane screeches by Ryu in an infernal display of South Korean Brutal Death Metal for our total delight. Then the razor-edged riffs by Lee Seok and the metallic bass by Lee Kyeong will pierce your flesh in Rancid Purulent Neonatal Cerebral Cortex, while Ryu continues to bark and gnarl like a creature from the abyss, exhaling blood and gore until the very end; followed by Acute Necrotizing Hemorrhagic Encephalopathy, utterly demented and therefore perfect for slamming into the pit like a ruthless metalmaniac. Moreover, Kim dictates the pace with his crushing beats while Lee Seok extracts sheer heaviness from his guitar in a lecture in venomous Death Metal. There’s time for one final demolishing tune by the quartet titled Asphyxiation by Malignant Neoplasm of Oropharynx, with Ryu growling deeply supported by the extreme, unfriendly sounds blasted by his bandmates, being beyond tailored for admirers of the genre.

Such putrefying EP can be enjoyed in its entirety on YouTube and on Spotify, but of course you can add it to your devilish collection by purchasing a copy from their own BandCamp page, from the Brutal Mind’s BandCamp page or webstore, from Apple Music or from Amazon, and don’t forget to also give those brutal South Koreans a shout on Facebook and on Instagram. The ravens soar across vast landscapes formed from the broken bodies of the tortured. They lie in tumbled heaps, hang from hook and branch with every intimate secret of their inner workings torn out and displayed for all to see, while an impossible flicker of agonized life remains within their hopeless eyes. There was no beginning, there will be no ending to the fields of torment, there is only now and always, knee deep in blood forever, with the new EP by Visceral Explosion being the perfect soundtrack for that gory and unfriendly scenario.

Best moments of the album: Acute Necrotizing Hemorrhagic Encephalopathy.

Worst moments of the album: None.

Released in 2023 Brutal Mind

Track listing
1. Unanesthetized Hypothalamotomy 3:03
2. Rancid Purulent Neonatal Cerebral Cortex 2:32
3. Acute Necrotizing Hemorrhagic Encephalopathy 2:18
4. Asphyxiation by Malignant Neoplasm of Oropharynx 2:20

Band members
Ryu Gun – vocals, guitar
Lee Seok Ho – guitar
Lee Kyeong Won – bass
Kim Yu Jong – drums


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.